Contacts & Locations

The office of the Department of English at Virginia Commonwealth University is usually open from 8-4:30, Monday through Friday.

hibbsVCU Department of English
900 Park Avenue, Hibbs Hall, Room 306
Box 842005
Richmond, VA 23284–2005                         M A P

(For most mail correspondence, you need only the post office box number, not the street address.)

Phone: 804.828.1331
Fax: 804.828.8684

Blackbird and additional faculty offices are located at

andersonAnderson House
913 W. Franklin St.
Richmond, VA 23284-2005                         M A P


Chair
David Latané
Hibbs 306  |  804.828.1331
dlatane@vcu.edu

Interim Associate Chair
Sachi Shimomura
Hibbs 306  |  804.828.1331
sshimomura@vcu.edu

Assistant to the Chair
Ginny Schmitz
Hibbs 306  |  804.827.8305
vschmitz@vcu.edu

Business and Human Resources Manager
Margret Vopel
Hibbs 306 | 804.827.8308
mschluer@vcu.edu

Graduate Programs Advisor
MA in English, MFA in Creative Writing, PhD in Media, Art, and Text
Thom Didato
Hibbs 306  |  804.828.1329
tndidato@vcu.edu

Coordinator of Undergraduate Advising
R. Dale Smith
Hibbs 318  |  804.827.8320
rdsmith@vcu.edu

Blackbird: on online journal of literature and the arts
Victoria Flanagan
Lead Associate Editor
Anderson House 101A  |  804.225.4729
blackbird@vcu.edu

Technology & Blackbird Production Support
M.A. Keller
Departmental Technology Coordinator & Senior Online Editor, Blackbird
Hibbs 317  |  804.827.8317
mkeller@vcu.edu

English Web Coordination
For updates or comments regarding English and MATX graduate  program web pages, or alumni news, contact Thom Didato.
tndidato@vcu.edu

For Faculty Directory updates contact
englishweb@vcu.edu

For all other English web related issues, contact M.A. Keller.
mkeller@vcu.edu