We’re Here for You

Do you have any questions?
We have answers! Check out our FAQs;  if that page doesn't answer your questions, please email english@vcu.edu.
If you want to get in touch with a specific individual, please see our faculty and staff directory.

Advising 
If you need to make an advising appointment with Kelsie Potter, please use the “advising appointment” link on your MyVCU page. You will be emailed on the day of the meeting, responding to the reason for your appointment.  If a phone call is also needed, mention that when booking the appointment. 

Social Media 
If you just want to see what we're up to at the moment, please check us out on social media:
           Twitter@VCUEnglish  |  Instagram@englishvcu  |  Facebook@VCUEnglish

Safety and Risk Management 
Read the latest about VCU Current Health Advisories.

Department Contacts

Hours: 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Phone: 804.828.1331
Fax: 804.828.8684

VCU Department of English
900 Park Avenue, Hibbs Hall, Room 306
Box 842005
Richmond, VA 23284-2005                         
[Address deliveries to street, building, & room; address mail to box number]

Additional faculty offices, two seminar rooms, and the Blackbird office are located in Anderson House.
913 W. Franklin St.
Richmond, VA 23284-2005                          


Chair
Les Harrison
Hibbs 415  |  804.827.8428
hlharrison@vcu.edu

Associate Chair
Sachi Shimomura
Hibbs 306  |  804.828.1331
sshimomura@vcu.edu

Office Administrative Assistant
Greg Patterson
Hibbs 306 | 804.828.1331
pattersongb.vcu.edu

Administrative Assistant & Communications Manager
Alicia Bonilla
Hibbs 306 | 804.828.1331
bonillaab@vcu.edu

Graduate Programs Advisor
Thom Didato
MA in English, MFA in Creative Writing, PhD in Media, Art, and Text
Hibbs 306  |  804.828.1329
tndidato@vcu.edu

Senior Academic Advisor in English (Undergraduate Advising)
Kelsie Potter
Hibbs 318 | 804.827.8318
knpotter@vcu.edu

Senior Finance Technician
Natalie Salsbury
Hibbs 306 C | 804.827.8308
salsburynh@vcu.edu

Blackbird: an online journal of literature and the arts
Waverley Vesely
Managing Editor
Anderson House 101A
blackbird@vcu.edu

Technology Coordinator & Blackbird Online Editor 
Michael Keller
Hibbs 317  |  804.827.8317
mkeller@vcu.edu


For error reporting or requested updates to English graduate program (MA, MFA, & MATX) web pages, or alumni news, please contact Thom Didato, tndidato@vcu.edu.

For all other english.vcu.edu errors or requested updates, please contact Michael Keller, mkeller@vcu.edu.